Suck It Up! Just Be Hungry!

Truth Chair…. Ready?  Lately I have been on hiatus from the TV world.  This, for me, means backing off a little on the cardio and losing a tad of momentum in my training.  Oh yah, then there is the damn diet.  Who cares, it may be a month before I am back on camera.  I mean, what could it hurt?   WRONG…. DANGER WILL ROBINSON!!!

Even though the thought of being on TV does give an added push to stay motivated in your diet and exercise, it isn’t the only reason to live to a higher standard of training.  I love to hear compliments from people who understand the struggle, and see me as someone beating the “URGE”.  Ok… the “naked truth”.

Lately I have looked for any excuse to avoid being hungry.  I look for appetite satisfaction at every meal.  I have been seeking out every tasty morsel I can find through out my day,  And it only gets worse towards the end of the day.  Just last week someone came to me and said, “what can I do when I get hungry after dinner and before I go to bed.  I don’t like to feel hungry… ”   Well crap…Me neither!  But it isn’t gonna kill me.  What ever happened to a little will power.  What ever happened to embracing a little hunger.  Why do we look for anyway out when it comes to even the smallest uncomfortable emotion. I hear myself saying “Suck it up and be hungry.  What… do you have a case of  ’Acute Inflammatory Whoositis’ “?   (just came up with that one)

We need to quit looking for what to eat to avoid being hungry.  I just ate for goodness sake.  I know I am not going to starve, but here I am, standing in front of the fridge, door wide open, searching for the one thing that is “low in calories” that will “fill me up” so I wont have to “feel hungry”.  I just freakin ate an hour ago.  I AM NOT HUNGRY!!!!  I AM A WHOOSE!!!!  I am wanting to eat for the sake of either boredom or taste, or I don’t know… I’m just screwed in the noggin.

My new Belief system: 
They call it being hungry for a reason.  People at church fast for a reason.  It is a reminder that we are seeking something.  It is a reminder that we should stay hungry for something.  Not STARVE…  But STAY HUNGRY.  That emotion or “phsyco-intellectual” (just invented that word too) feeling of hunger is not coming from your body.  You have satisfied that nutritional need.  Now you seek to fulfill that desire, that craving, that emptiness… and you are looking to food.  DON’T!  Food does not love you back!  Food is that ex-lover that wants to abuse you and leave you feeling used, guilty and ashamed.  What is so wrong with associating a little hunger with “Accomplishing our goals”.  That feeling of hunger should encourage us.  It should say, “we are on the right track”,  and allow us to stay hungry for more of life, hungry for more passion, more love, more education, more friendships…

Please listen… that hunger is there to drive you.  It is there to remind you that you can do better…  Dont extinguish it with a dingdong!  Just “be still, and Be hungry”!!!!

“BEING FIT FEELS BETTER THAN FOOD TASTE”…

About Steve Pfiester

Certified CrossFit, TRX, Kettlebell Athletics Trainer with a B.S. in Physical Therapy. Owner of Longevity Max Fitness and BCx Boot Camp.

Posted on December 21, 2011, in Diet, Motivation, PFIT TIPS, Reality Check, WEIGHT LOSS and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. Hey I am so happy I found your web site, I really found you
    by accident, while I was researching on Google for something
    else, Anyways I am here now and would just like to say kudos
    for a remarkable post and a all round exciting blog (I also
    love the theme/design), I don’t have time to read through it all at the minute but I have book-marked it and also included your RSS feeds, so when I have time I will be back to read much more, Please do keep up the great work.

  1. Pingback: Enough Fatso! Lets Get Started… « pFIT pFUNdaMENTALs

  2. Pingback: HOW TO “NOT” START A DIET « pFIT pFUNdaMENTALs

Leave a Reply

