Fitness: Love it do ya?

We have all come across those, “beefers”… you know,  those crazy fanny pack wearing’ freaks that actually love the brutality of lifting weights, or those skinny little 1/2 dead marathon runners that get this euphoric “runners high” at mile 19.  All I get at mile 19 is a cab and a five guys burger.

Ok  seriously though, haven’t we all heard of people who boast of loving their workouts, even loving the actual burn they acquire while gutting out a few more reps?  Better yet, have you ever talked with a runner that actually cant wait to wake up and get their run started at 4 am – and worse, they love the way the concrete massages the bottom of their feet over the next 9 miles?

No friends, I’m serious… these people exist, they dwell amongst us, you hardly see them because they are at the gym about 4 am.  Secretly, I think they are all 1/2 “Vamp”… but that is another blog for another time.  Let me help to break this down for you, even if you are one of the creatures of early morning to which I am referring. Talking to exercise zealots, I often hear much of the aforementioned subject matter and I have to call Bull.

If you say to me “Seriously Steve, I even  love the pain I get when my calves are on fire during calve raises”!  Reeeeeeeeeeeallllyyyy??? (in my best Jim Carry)… Even a sadist doesn’t inherently enjoy pain.  The pain is only a conduit to a belief system and it validates a feeling, thought, hope, or memory that gives them so much pleasure that they associate the discomfort of training, to the positive feelings the training brings about.

Follow me through another example.  allow me to use my own story.  I havealways been one who struggles with my weight.  Mostly because I used to love love love to over eat.  I mean it was so bad I would back up from the table, take a deep breath, loosen my belt, and go back in for thirds.  How did I get over this?  I changed my belief system.  What if I told you now, I actually like the feeling I have when I am just a little hungry?  Well, I do.

After a bodybuilding show, I could gain 20 pounds in just 2 weeks.  I would binge eat and destroy all of my hard work from the previous 6 months.  Yep, destroy it all in 2 short weeks.  Believe me that is a lot of food.  Now knowing the destruction that my body deals with from gorging my stomach and organs at each meal, and the associated bloated feeling, tight clothes, nauseous, and laziness that comes with that type of binge and full feeling, it isn’t too hard to see why eating lighter and stop-eating-before-I-am-stuffed, begins to actually feel better than being full.  I now associate feeling tighter, skinnier, and attractive with a slight hungry feeling.

My pfiesterism is “fit feels better than food taste“.  And for me its true.  It didn’t happen overnight, but indeed it did happen.

Look for my next blog on learning to love your workouts and change your mindset.

About Steve Pfiester

Certified CrossFit, TRX, Kettlebell Athletics Trainer with a B.S. in Physical Therapy. Owner of Longevity Max Fitness and BCx Boot Camp.

Posted on April 3, 2012, in BLOG VOMIT, PFIESTERISMS, PFIT TIPS and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. Great Post, this, was perfect timing for me to read. I was under pressure to eat the wrong stuff today on my birthday. It’s just doesn’t seem to be my thing anymore. I have no desire to binge. I read a book Conquest of Mind and learned to be on the lookout for asavas. It’s helped to prevent binges. Another helpful post to remind me.

    Nice post, thanks!

    P.S. Still love those Nabisco whole wheat fig newtons, though. 🙂

  2. This is an AWESOME read. We definitely need to collaborate on this topic – lmk if you’re up for it 😀

  3. Jason (chubbymedic) Bushnell

    You cant hear me yell daggum back at you guys, but I DO and I DONT like pain lol. I whine right there with ya Steve.

Leave a Reply

