The WHY will Determine the HOW!

If you are taking the time to read this you probably are somewhat of an exercise enthusiasts.  Or at least someone who is willing to invest some time researching and reading other people’s feelings and philosophies about training.  This blog is just some insight into purposeful training.  We should all train with a goal in mind.  Mindless, pointless, goalless training is just a waste of time.

Don’t get me wrong, Saturday nights I go to my club after hours and workout like a fiend (had help to spell this by the grammar police) for no other reason than to spill my guts talking out loud to all my multi-personlaities. My point, however, is for us to meet our goals, our training should have purpose.

Recently, I decided to train for three different events.  In the next few months, I will compete in bodybuilding, triathlon, and MMA (Mixed Martial Arts).  Many exercises cross over within each discipline.  Obviously, if I want to walk on stage for the Bodybuilding Show with six-pack abs, I will have to spend some time doing sit ups.  Also, if I want to sweep or switch positions when ground fighting I will have to work my abs doing sit ups as well.

The purpose of doing sit ups when I am fighting is to get up powerfully and fast, and the purpose of doing sit-ups for a bodybuilding show is completely for aesthetics. Training abs for a triathlon will no doubt be helpful to strengthen my core for swimming as well.  The difference is the purpose behind the exercise.

The purpose of doing the exercise based on the goal will change the rhythm, the intensity, the repetition, the rest period, and almost every other aspect of the exercise.  I will train abs completely different for each contest, but I will still employ many of the same exercises.

How I do the exercises will be  determined by what my goal for doing them shall be.  Before training, determine what it is you want to get out of the exercise. Do some research and then execute the routine.  Don’t just randomly go for a run.  What is it you want to get from “your run”.  Weight loss,  increased speed, increased endurance, or just to clear your head?  The why will determine the how.

Train hard!!!!

Supplements That Give Me An Edge:
GNC Mega Man vitamins
KreAlkaline 1500
Beyond Raw Refine
Beyond Raw Ravage
Designer Whey Protein
Beyond Raw Reforge

FitFluential LLC compensated me for this Campaign. All opinions are my own.

About Steve Pfiester

Certified CrossFit, TRX, Kettlebell Athletics Trainer with a B.S. in Physical Therapy. Owner of Longevity Max Fitness and BCx Boot Camp.

Posted on June 16, 2012, in SUPPLEMENTS, workout and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

Leave a Reply

