I Delight in Weakness: My Leg Workout

“I delight in weaknesses, in insults, in hardships, in persecutions, in difficulties. For when I am weak, then I am strong.” II Cor 12:10

Another Dreaded Leg Day

I’m not preaching, so hear me out.  Today is another dreaded leg day. You see, five weeks ago I tore my medial meniscus and my MCL in my left knee. (That’s me with Dr. Stepanek of Total Health using Cold Laser Therapy on my knee – just one of my many steps to my rehabilitation). I was 2 weeks away from my first submission wrestling and jujitsu tournament since high school.  Within seconds, I went immediately from being on top of the world and in the best shape physically and emotionally I’ve ever been in, to complete devastation.  So now you understand how today, leg day, brings me to a place where I must dig deep to continue dredging through this grind of a workout.

I want so bad to load up the leg press and get this done, but here I sit with no weight and limited range of motion, and hurt. Amazing how a person can sweat just from the anticipation of something hurting.  Next, I stare at the leg extension like an ex girlfriend that cheated on me with my best friend. Slowly we catch eyes. Then the nausea sets in.  As I get close she welcomes me to sit down. Cordial at first, then she cracks a smile, and brings the pain train – but no way will she beat me.  I will endure, I will break through.  Whatever the cost, the patience, the ability to endure. I will sit here till I learn this lesson.

If I can grind this out today, if I can work through this, if I can make this knee stronger… Imagine what I will do when I am 100% again. During weakness, through insults, enduring hardships, experiencing persecution or difficulties, let it DRIVE you.  Search for modifications, instead of excuses.  What you will find is MORE drive, MORE will, MORE guts, and MORE heart than you have ever experienced! You may just become your strongest in those weakest moments.

My Leg Workout

Note: I split my workouts up, but you can do them all at once. I use a variety of free weights, Hammer Strength Equipment, Body Master Equipment and Life Fitness cardio. train at Max Fitness. Click on the links below to watch video demonstration from FitStudio by Sears.

6:45 am  Cardio
Elipticle 10 minutes
plate crunch  3 sets 25 reps
Elipticle 10 minutes
reverse decline rollups 3 sets 20 reps
Elipticle 10 minutes

2pm Quads
leg press (Can substitute for squats) 5 sets 25 reps – 1: warm-up, 2: 90lbs 3: 180lbs 4: 270lbs 5: 270lbs
single leg extensions 5 sets 20 reps (partial ROM on left) 80lbs
Single leg Leg press (can substitute for one-leg squat) 4 sets 20 reps (partial ROM on left) 80lbs

4pm Hamstrings
4 sets each leg Seated Hamstring curl (On HammerStrength Weight Equipment)
(left) 10 pounds 30 pulse reps, (right) 60 pounds 15 reps sets
4 sets Laying Hamstring Curl
(left) 20 pounds 15 reps, (right) 45 pounds 15 reps
4 sets Straight leg dead lifts 135 pounds 15 reps

ROM = Range of Motion

About Steve Pfiester

Certified CrossFit, TRX, Kettlebell Athletics Trainer with a B.S. in Physical Therapy. Owner of Longevity Max Fitness and BCx Boot Camp.

Posted on October 25, 2012, in IN MY HEAD, Rehab, workout and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

