Reebok ATV 19+ Shoes: Perfect for What?

The Perfect ShoeWhat would you consider the perfect shoe?  Maybe one that compliments that perfect ensemble? A high heel that lifts your bottom and makes your legs look a mile long? , or maybe one that eases knee pain when you run, or add stability and traction on the field?  Before you can define the “perfect” shoe, you need to know “Perfect for what?”.  The real question is “perfect for what purpose?”.  This brings me to your needs and goals.  To help keep this blog short, I want to give a quick example and review of the craziest shoe I’ve come across in a long time, and I LOOOOVE shoes. (no homo)

Reebok just launched a new outdoor functional training shoe, called the ATV 19+,  designed for all-terrain training, like trail runs and mud runs. When I first saw the advertisement for this shoe I laughed out loud as UFC fighter, Rampage Jackson, gave a quick monologue boasting of its many accolades. (Pretty funny commercial)

My Playground

Reebok ATV ReviewMy passion in training is outdoor functional training.  Bonnie and I are the co-founders of BCx Boot Camp, an extreme functional training program that focuses on aesthtics, performance, and nutrtuion.  What makes BCx different from many other training programs is all the trainiers lead by example, many time teaching the class by doing it with them. With this philosphy in mind it is important that the trainers are able to continue this high pace, class after class, safely – running on all kinds of surfaces, rain or shine. The trainers have to be right in the thick of it with the members to keep them on task.

5 months ago when I was at our MMA club, I juked when I should have jived, and I tore my medial mensicus and sustained a 90% tear to my MCL.  Not just my training, but my vocation, was compromised.  How could I continue to teach, lead, and fight with a serious injury?

Stability for the Unstable

Reebok ATV Product ReviewThe last five months have taught me a lot of mental fortitude, but that is for another time. So here we are. My knee is better.  I’ve gained about 70% of my strentgh back. I have 80% of my range of motion. It still hurts, but it is there all the same.  What I am dealing with, that I can’t overcome, is the instability and “freaky” feeling I get when I walk on uneven sufaces.  Imagine trying to teach 30 people how to climb a 12 foot wall and climb back down a cargo net, and then sprint across a muddy field to the next obstacle, all with no confidnce that your knee will hold you.  It’s horrible not to be able to do what you love 100%.

Then, at my doorstep, arrives the ATV. My first time trying them on was indoors on a hard even surface. The ATV’s pushed my foot into a neutral postion, which I hated. It felt weird. I invert (or supinate) as I walk, so I walk on the outside of my shoes.  This is how my body is and its comfortable that way, so these shoes pushed against what felt natural – until I got in the grass. This, my friends, is when the heavens opened up and light shined through the clouds. The stability I gained in the grass and mud was amazing.  The shoe and ground combo allowed my foot to find that solid spot that is right for just me.  No knee instability – and my confidence grew with every step.

Reebok ATV product review

I thought that a shoe with that much stability would be heavy and clumsy, but the ATV’s were the exact oposite.  I tested them out on diffeent obstacles, different terrain, and different gates. I was impressed. I was able to run on my toes through the tires, jog through the mud, and run through the uneven grass field – and do it all with confidence.

Though it’s no secret that I really like all my Reebok shoes and clothes – the ATV 19+ by far, is my favorite gear.  It gave me my confidence back!  Thank You Reebok!!!!

Humbly, stevO

About Steve Pfiester

Certified CrossFit, TRX, Kettlebell Athletics Trainer with a B.S. in Physical Therapy. Owner of Longevity Max Fitness and BCx Boot Camp.

Posted on February 20, 2013, in BCx BOOT CAMP™, PFIT TIPS, Product Review and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 10 Comments.

  1. Lol. Funny commercial. Cool shoes. So, they can’t or shouldn’t be used to workout indoors? And sorry to hear about your knee. There’s nothing more frustrating than an injury that keeps you down. Glad to hear you’re up and running again:)

    • Thanks.. its getting better everyday. I wear mine inside when I dont have time to change them out and seem fine for work or moderate upperbody lifts. No way would I use them for any Oly lifts or plyo inside. There isn’t enough feedback from my feet for that. But for outside training I am still rocking them and I still like them a lot. Only been 2 weeks so far but I dont see me changing my mind anytime soon… 🙂

  2. What happens when you hit an edge or a rock right on with a lug? Does it ram it into your foot, or is the undersole stiff enough to spread the load?

  3. It’s been a few months, how are the shoes holding up? i am becoming a competitive mud runner and love my La Sportiva’s for race day, but I was thinking about these for training days. The shoes feel comfortable enough to put 10 miles on?

    • Hey D’… I still love them. It all started out kind of by accident. I do a lot of functional training outside. After a meniscal tear and tearing my mcl I needed extra support. They have been and continue to be everything I need. However I am not putting more than 3 off road miles on them 3/weekly. I know they could take 10 and still feel great.. at least on my feet. everybody is different but I trust them. I dont like the transition from the dirt to the pavement… but Loving them for off road still!

  4. THANK YOU for this review. I’m tired of seeing comments from shoe collectors about how ugly it looks and nothing about performance.

  5. by the way any difference between the atv 19 and atv 19+?

Leave a Reply

