Post Competition Leg Workout

Nano 3.0I just competed in a bodybuiding competition in Port St Lucie, Florida Saturday, August 24th with 10 other athletes from Team Max (our competition team of bikini, figure, bodybuilding and physique athletes) from our gym, Max Fitness Club.

I trained and dieted for this event for about two months, counting every calorie in and every calorie out. I treated every rep of every exercise as if someone else was doing it better. I did 3-a-day cardios and worked my abs harder than I ever have before. I truly pushed my body to what I felt was the limit. The outcome?  Awww sweet success, but what do I do now?

Treasure Coast Classic

Nano 3.0I decided I would compete again in 4 weeks, with some of my clients, so there is no way to take a week off (which is what I would usually do to allow my body to heal).  So, here I sit Monday morning having to do legs and my body is still so achy, sore, and depleted from the crazy carnage from the weekend. I strap on my new favorite lifting shoes, my new Nano 3.0’s and off I go!

I decide that whatever I do today will need to be submax, and less intense – maybe I’ll add a little more rest time and decrease the resistance.  Off I go…

POST COMPETITION LEG DAY… just to get started again

Quadriceps and glutes:

A. Leg press
Five sets starting very light and adding resistance every set for five easy sets,

Set1: 2 plates X 30 reps (wide foot placement)
Set 2: 4 plates X 30 reps (moderate foot placement)
Set 3-5: 6 plates X 30 reps (3 each side) (alternating foot placement from narrow to wide)

NOTE: the Nano 3.0 gives great feed back and response while doing leg press.  Love that feeling.

B. Deep Squats
Five sets starting ridiculously light and working my way to just 135.  All I want to day is to stretch out the carnage from flexing this weekend.  I need to move the weight through a long range of motion safely.

Set 1: 95lbs X’s 20 reps (deep as safely tolerated)
Set 2-5: 135 X’s 20 reps (deep as tolerated)

NOTE: the Nano 3.0’s provide stability and true feel from the floor through the lift that you just cant get with any other shoe outside of a oly-lifting shoe.

C. Leg Extension
let’s keep this slow and methodical.  Five sets using each rep as an opportunity to squeeze theses muscles into a full contraction.

set 1: 100lbs X’s 15
set 2: 120 X’s 15
set 3: 140 X’s 15
set 4 150 X’s 15
set 5 160 X’s 15

NOTE: in most open chain exercises (where your feet aren’t planted or connect to a machine’s surface), the only benefit the Nano 3.0 has to offer is how cool it makes me feel wearing it,,, lol

So there it is… my post competition workout.  I hope this helps you after a race, a meet, or any competition.  After meeting our fitness goals, and competing, it is always hard to find a way to “restart”.  But follow this easy 2 step guide:

Step 1:  Pick a goal
Step 2: Go to the gym

Yep, it’s pretty much that simple.

FitFluential LLC compensated me for this post. All thoughts and opinions are my own.

About Bonnie Pfiester

Fitness Columnist and Lifestyle Coach, Resident Trainer for Designer Whey, Fitness Advisor for FitStudio, powered by Sears, FitFluential Ambassador and Owner of Max Fitness Club, home of BCx Boot Camp in Vero Beach, Florida.

Posted on August 27, 2013, in Product Review, workout and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Reblogged this on PFITblog and commented:

    Thought I’d share for any of you looking for another leg workout!

Leave a Reply

