The Ultimate Cross Training Shoe: Speed Meets Strength

FitFluential LLC compensated me for this post. All thoughts and opinions are my own.

I was asked to review a new product produced by Reebok specifically for “CrossFitters”.  Before I give you my review, which is pretty positive, I want to explain CrossFit and cross training in general.

box jumpsAt first glance CrossFit has an almost cult like following, ok.. at second glance too.  However, there is a lot of merit to there philosophies, and methodology.  Many of us are already “CrossFitting” we just don’t know it yet.  You may not subscribe to an official web site or be a member of a “Box” (a CrossFit gym) but you might already be interrupting your weight training to jump rope or superset you squats with a quick set of pull ups or a run.  If so, you are cross training and that is the basic premise of cross fit.

(The red shoes in this picture are the Nano 2.0)

reebok crossfit workout gearOne of CrossFit‘s mantras is to train to be ready for anything. This variety of ever-changing routines using mostly real world functional training, means you will find yourself executing several different disciplines of fitness though out a single workout.

Reebok has set out to give these athletes the best gear possible to help them accomplish the task of expecting the unexpected.  The New Cross Fit Nano Speed is a hybrid shoe that allows for safely executing heavy lifts by a low profile design, yet gives amazing support for moderate distance during a run.

You don’t have to be a CrossFitter to take advantage of this gear.  If you are like me, and enjoy lifting, but you also know you get a huge benefit from plyometrics, 3-5 mile runs, a little hit training, while you know your first love will always be the weight floor, then I think you can maximize your training by using this gear.

reebok crossfit nano speedWhen I put them on, I was skeptical, because I didn’t want to do a lot of leg press and heavy lunges in a running shoe.  But, indeed, I was pleasantly surprised how my foot was still getting solid feedback from the floor, giving me plenty of stability – and them knowing I was wearing a runner, I felt the shoe itself almost daring me to pull out a 400 meter sprint after every set of leg press.  It was marvelous… it sucked… but it was marvelous.

Here’s an example of a workout where a cross training shoe is awesome. The only thing it’s missing is the runs (just because they can’t actually shoot us leaving for a run).

 

About Steve Pfiester

Certified CrossFit, TRX, Kettlebell Athletics Trainer with a B.S. in Physical Therapy. Owner of Longevity Max Fitness and BCx Boot Camp.

Posted on October 1, 2013, in Product Review, Uncategorized, workout and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

